The Hill has nothing on Barcelona!

Standard

These past two days have been absolutely amazing! My host dad has taken me to so many different places, that I am blown away by all of the things Barcelona has to offer. Last night, he took me and my “sister” to Sagrada Familia, Gaudi’s house, and the Magic Fountain. Gaudi’s architecture is pure brilliance. Even now I’m at a loss for words, because there is no way to describe how impressive his work is. We were out and about for a solid two hours and saw so much. Barcelona at night is so full of life and color, it’s impressive. The Magic Fountain was amazing. It consisted of a light, music, and water show all wrapped in one. We sat on the steps of the museum that is behind the fountain for about 10 minutes just watching the fountain. It was very peaceful and calming.

Today, we got up to take Vania to a First Communion event and then met up with my friend Sarah. Alberto, Lucas, Sarah, and I went to Parc Guell. OMG. First of all, the climb up this hill was absolutely ridiculous. Sarah and I could feel the burn about half way up the hill. Keep in mind this hill was like walking from DUC to FAC. It wasn’t very long, but it was stupid steep!! Secondly, it was literally one of the most beautiful parks I have ever seen. Again, Gaudi is an architectural genius!! There was so much color and the view of the city was amazing. It wasn’t huge or anything, but there was a lot to see within it. We stopped to watch some street performers who were very entertaining! Sarah came home with us for lunch (pasta with pesto sauce!) and then we went back out to see Montjuic. It’s this huge fort on top of one of the hills by the Mediterranean Sea that you can see the city. The very was spectacular. The city is so full of history and important land marks, that it’s mind blowing.

Sarah and I are going to be stair masters by the time these three weeks are up. We have probably walked a solid 10 miles today. To reward ourselves for working out so much today, Alberto took us to the best ice cream shop in the city. And I kid you not, it was the best ice cream I’ve ever had (and that’s saying something because I’ve consumed a lot of ice cream in my time).

The more I see of the city, the more I fall in love with it. I miss my family at home, but if it wasn’t for graduation I would definitely stay longer. I am have so much fun and staying so busy that I have to stop to think: “I am in Barcelona, Spain. How cool is that!?” Everyday I am so thankful to wake up in one of the most beautiful cities in the world.

Leave a Reply

